## THE HILLIARD POLICE DEPARTMENT

## from Hilliard Souvenir Book – Sesquicentennial 2003

The businessmen of the Village of Hilliards in 1902 decided it needed some type of police protection. Nothing was accomplished until 1916.

Records state the first marshal, Hosiah Romick (1916-1930), was appointed in 1916. Other marshals to follow were Lafe Wheeler, Lester Armentrout and M. D. Knick.

The first jail was built on Norwich Street in 1929. It consisted of an office and two cells. Prisoners held over night had their meals supplied by their families and sometimes by the marshal's wife. The building is still being used today for a business.



Chief Edgel Maynard

Karl Fluharty, a *member* of the Franklin County Rural Police, was hired and worked eight hours per day in 1956. His service was terminated when a Chief of Police was appointed by the mayor.

Mayor C. H. O'Brien appointed Web Walker as Chief of Police. Chief Walker resigned in 1969. Mayor O'Brien then appointed Robert Mayer in 1969. His assistant was Sergeant Edgel Maynard who became Chief of Police in 1960. Chief Maynard retired in 1985 after 25 years of service. He had the honor of wearing the first official police uniform. Chief Maynard introduced the school patrol in the schools and it is still operational today.

The first emergency program was introduced in 1978.

Rod Garnett was appointed Chief in 1986 after Chief Maynard's retirement and remains in that position.

The Dare Program was introduced in the schools in 1993.

The bicycle patrol became part of the department in 1995.

In 2003, the Hilliard Police Department had a staff of 47 officers, 11 dispatchers,

one secretary, five clerks, one property clerk, one Auxiliary officers, six Explorer volunteers and one mechanic. The department had a total staff of 65 and have 15 cruisers.



Written by Thelma (Hart) Allemang

Logo with permission of the Hilliard Police Department